Tanki online

Ys Online: Napishtim’s Ark Guide: How to Get Started

Ys Online: Napishtim’s Ark has finally arrived on Android. An action RPG gacha MMO from the classic Ys series, developed by Falcom and published by Zilong Game Limited, which also published Counter:Side, one of the best gacha games on Android. This isn’t Ys first MMORPG entry either; we had Ys Online – The Call of Solum, published in 2007 by CJ Internet, known as Netmarble today. Ys Online: The Ark of Napishtim is adapted from the world of Ys VI, where you meet two sisters living in the island of Canaan, and therefore you will follow the events of the story of Ys VI, which basically means that you can see this game as a remake of the original.


Luckily, you don’t need a high-end Android phone to play Ys Online: Napishtim’s Ark, but be prepared to face complex grinding systems that will prevent you from progressing further. That’s precisely why Android Police has compiled a beginner’s guide, detailing how the game works, as well as valuable features and systems you won’t want to overlook.


Before entering the servers, you will choose a login method to create an account. You have access to Google, Facebook, Twitter and Email. So far, it seems impossible to log in with a guest account, so you’ll have to choose your login method either way.

The next step is to choose your server; remember that your progress is tied to the selected server. You will endeavor to choose a server in your region and a less busy server if you prefer reliable connectivity. Once you’re ready, Tap to start.

Alma Quiz: Choosing a Predefined Class

Once in the game, you are greeted by the goddess Alma. She will ask you a questionnaire of questions.

Answers to question 1 (determines your main class):

  • A blade that kills the bad guys!
  • A spell that drives out demons!
  • An arrow that pierces the darkness!

Answers to question 2 (determines your class promotion):

  • Step up and defend my companions!
  • Bring the fight to the enemies. An eye for an eye.
  • Heal wounds and cleanse all impurities.

Answers to question 3 (determines your talents):

  • A heart passionate like fire.
  • A mind as calm as ice.
  • Movements as fast as a storm.

Answers to question 4 (unknown):

  • A perfect world !
  • Treasures in the Ruins!
  • Protect my loved ones!

You will have a recommended starting class after completing Alma’s quiz. However, if you are not interested in the recommendation, press Choose your class.

Selecting your own class

You have a choice of one of four main classes, which breaks down into specializations between two advanced classes (similar to Fire Emblem).

You can choose between four main classes:

  • Warrior: Typical sword and shield class that transforms into a focused tank (Knight) or damage dealer (Berserker).
  • magician: Your main caster class advancement leads to Ice Mage and Pyro Mage, where you focus on throwing ice for crowd control or fire magic for extra damage.
  • Tidy: Your bow wielder to deal long-range damage and support allies with healing magic; you can boost your flexibility by evolving into Windwalker, or focus entirely on healing by evolving into Priest.
  • Assassin: The rogue class that relies on stealth and luck to inflict immense damage, the class promotes into Ninja that prefers to strike from the shadows and relies on invisibility and evasion to deal damage, while that the Navigator combines gun and sword for new ways to deal damage, turning into a versatile advanced DPS class.

You can name your character on the character class selection screen or press the dice icon to randomly assign a name to your character. When you’re ready, press Begin.


Basics of the battle

Ys Online adopts the action RPG combat system where you can dodge, jump, attack normally and activate skills. Some of your equipped skills will require choosing a direction to cast/activate, and the same logic can be applied when facing enemies that pass their skills using a red line of sight. So if you see a red lit area, always dodge and get out of the area. This way you will avoid taking damage from waste during a fight.

Auto path function

Tapping on a mission will put you on the autopath, where your character will automatically head to the objective marker. You can control your character directly if you don’t want to enable auto-pathing. The first section of the game doesn’t feature a map, so if you ever get lost while following an objective, turn on auto-pathing to navigate to the task at hand.

Interact with NPCs

You will have the option to interact with NPCs to advance a quest or obtain a reward. When you select “cat”, you must fill in the blanks using multiple choice answers. Choosing the correct answer increases your success rate. If you succeed, you will see “convince” appear on your screen.

You can interact more with NPCs by sending gifts, receiving gifts, and increasing affection levels. Bonding with NPCs can grant you useful rewards and perks.

Soul Cards

You can equip Soul Cards in four equipment slots: Weapon, Chest, Legs, and Helmet. Equipping Soul Cards adds primary and special attributes, activated by upgrading Soul Cards.

Some soul cards offer skills that activate in battle. The first you’ll unlock is the Pikkard Soul Card, where you’ll transform into Pikkard to cast Meat Shield, dealing 2000% damage while shielding yourself from damage with a solid shield.

You will acquire some Soul Cards by completing the first missions. But the rest depends on using the Soul Card wish system. When you wish, you consume Wishes, and a Wish Attempt will hand out random rewards, eerily similar to a typical gacha system where more banners are unlocked by completing additional conditions (like completing story missions).

Measure your battle points

Adding soul cards, upgrading and equipping will increase your battle points (BP). Tapping on your BP breaks down your total and any sources you can acquire more BP from. Your BP reflects your power level, so do your best to increase your BP as you start to level up. Having too low a BP rating may exclude you from future content or prevent you from completing it.

Adventure Rank

The main progression system is Adventure Rank. Each node has a trial, a list of requirements that must be met before completing that level of node. Tap the completed trial to claim your reward and you’ll earn points to increase your Adventure Rank. Your Adventure Rank is displayed next to your character name when you are in the field.

Upgrading your skills

You will unlock the upgrade tree for your skills around the twenty minute mark while playing. Open the Skill menu, select a skill, then press Upgrade. You’ll learn new skills, view accessing your advanced class trees, and setting up your combat skills (choosing which one to equip) through the Skill menu. The skills are all level locked, but once you learn the skill you can start investing points to start improving. You will increase your BP this way.

Share the MMO experience

Ys Online: The Ark of Napishtim is the average regular MMO with gacha gameplay mechanics, which isn’t necessarily bad. And this isn’t Falcom’s first rodeo to bring the MMO genre to one of the Ys titles, which means you shouldn’t expect too many surprises about what you’ll get. Ys Online: The Ark of Naphishtim is a title worth checking out, especially if you’re a fan of Ys VI as it borrows characters from around the world and lets you experience the story of Ys VI as your own character ( sorry, Adol). You may surprise yourself how good this game is without needing to change the formula, but always be your own judge whether the game is for you or not, which is precisely why we have included the Google Playstore download below. If Ys Online: Napishtim’s Ark isn’t your cup of tea, we have plenty of MMORPGs on Android for you to check out.